New and green !!!
    julieswink4 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New and green !!!

Hello,
    My name is Julie Swink and I live in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. I am new to homeschooling, online school, planning a curriculum, and/or teaching ANYTHING other than how to clean your room and maybe get the trash out correctly. I'm a bit anxious but am hopeful I will meet some other moms or first timers who can show us the ropes. Due to a health issue we recently un-enrolled our 5th grader from public school. (it wasn't working so well anyway) - She has always wanted to try homeschool so here we are. I was trying to preview and/or sample some lessons today to try to figure out how it all works.... Any sugggestions about how you did it would be appreciated. Also, where is the pause button?
    Thank you so much! Julie

katshu2 is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi Julie, and welcome! There is a pause button, but not for every activity. There is a rewind feature though, so if for some reason you or your child miss something, you can rewind and re-listen as often as necessary.

Here is a great Getting Started with Time4Learning guide that you can check out to learn more about the program and navigating the site. There is also this Hints and Helps section.

As far as how everyone uses the program, that's as varied as the number of people using it, lol. For example, we use it as our core rather than as a supplement to another program/curriculum. You may want to check out the forum Members Chat on Using Time4Learning...see if you can peruse the threads and find out about how others plan their day with T4L.

One last thing - I'd like to invite you to join the Texas homeschool forum. It can be a great place to meet other members near you, but also a good way to keep up with things going on around the state.

Hope that helped, at least a little. Looking forward to seeing you around the boards!
    Katie
    Coffee drinker, gadget addict, proud geek.