New Here in kansas and so overwhelmed!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By MaryKate

Thread: New Here in kansas and so overwhelmed!

Default New Here in kansas and so overwhelmed!

Have two kids starting 4th and 6th and totally have no idea what I am doing! Signed up with Time 4 Learning and totally confused on how it works.I am new to this, but know people who have done it, but their back in Illinois!
    Is time for learning enough for them or do I need to add more that isnt on the site.Please help so confused and anxious i decided on this!
    Thanks Jeanne

Miguel'smom is offline Member
    Blog Entries

Deep breaths.....

It looks like time 4 learning fufills your state requirements. It seems to meet:

3. Instruction must be provided for a period of time “substantially equivalent” to public school, about 186 days. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 72-1111(a)(2).
    4. The instruction must be (a) planned and (b) scheduled, and (c) periodic testing must occur. Kansas
    Attorney General Opinion No. 85-159 (1985) says the factors outlined in In Re Sawyer 672 P.2d 1093
    (1983) (planned and scheduled instruction, periodic testing, and competent instructor) should be applied
    to determine whether home instruction is a private school
    As for whether time 4 learning has enough depth for you is a personal decision. With the option of moving ahead as a child completes a course I think it's "enough". You can always go more in-depth in any topic your children show interested in. Welcome again I hope as time progresses you become more confident. I'm not in Kansas but I do have a 6th grader that has been home schooled through out and will help you as much as I can. Just ask Remember to breath and that homeschooling is less frustrating and easier then helping kids with their homework, IMO.

MaryKate is offline Junior Member