New to homeschooling!
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By lovehmschlg
  • 1 Post By katshu2

Thread: New to homeschooling!

Sydnie G. is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New to homeschooling!

Hey guys! I am new to homeschooling due to a recent change in vaccine exemptions at our local private school. I have a 4th grader, a 2nd grader, and a Kindergartener. They have all done very well in school but I am pretty nervous about all of this.(we also have an 18 year old foster kid and her 2 year old daughter at home until June so we are super busy!) This looked like a great program to start with while you are figuring out your method. I work 3 12 hour night shifts a week. Any one else out there have to work and homeschool? I may be able to cut my hours or use vacation time for a while. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Sydnie
    from South Dakota

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, Sydnie.

Welcome to the homeschooling community and to Time4Learning. It's natural to feel nervous. This is new to you. But trust me, you're going to do fine!! You are not alone. The first thing I did when I started homeschooling is I went to the library and checked out every book there was on homeschooling. That was 12 years ago. Now you have the internet. My second tip would be, do not try to duplicate school at home. You will be surprised how much your kids will learn naturally. When my kids were in elementary, I tried to keep workbooks to a minimum.