New to homeschooling after 5 yrs public school. HELP!!
    mom3-1 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Lightbulb New to homeschooling after 5 yrs public school. HELP!!

I am new to homeschooling with 3 girls in K, 2, and 4th grades. I also have a 2yr old son. I decided to homeschool my kids after I felt that they were getting left behind at their old school. I spent all of my time trying to review the daily school work with my 2 oldest girls every afternoon when they got home just so they could have the chance and the time to learn the lesson that the teacher did not give them time for in class. My 9 yr old daughter repeatedly asked for help from the teacher and was told that she didn't have time to review with her. So, for several reasons I decided to homeschool against family and friends advice; now I am scared to death wondering did I do the right thing and where to go from here. Any and all help would be appreciated.

katshu2 is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi there, and welcome! I was in the same boat as you...pulled my oldest out of 1st grade in a fit of anger, only to realize I had NO IDEA what I was going to do, lol. Lean on support wherever you can find it, even if it's only online support. Join groups and ask for help. Don't forget to vent when you need to.

Here is a wonderful Welcome to Homeschooling ebook that's perfect for new homeschoolers. I would also suggest you join the Alabama homeschool forum we have here to try and connect with members that might be local to you.

I would tell you not to worry, but that would be silly. As parents, that's what we do, lol. But I will tell you that 1st grader that I pulled out of school and felt lost with, is now starting his 9th grade year. At home. And we have never looked back!

Good luck, and always feel free to ask any questions you may have...
    Katie
    Coffee drinker, gadget addict, proud geek.
    Accidentally homeschooling since 2005!

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hello, Mom3-1.