New to homeschooling, just want to say hello and good morning!
    nncrabb is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New to homeschooling, just want to say hello and good morning!

Good morning all!

I'm new at homeschooling. The public schools in my area were not an option for my daughter as I felt that academically they were failing her. At the beginning of the school year my daughter was enrolled at a public school but had to be withdrawn due to health issues. When I contacted the school regarding her departure the principle explained to me that I could use her textbooks as they followed a homeschooling curriculum. He assured me I would get a lesson plan and also I would know of what the expectations were of where she should be by certain dates. Everything went smoothly for a few months, but once my lesson plans were all used and she had achieved what she needed by the dates required, January 3rd, I was told that I had to pay 400.00 to borrow the books and I also had to pay tuition for the time she was not there. I am disabled and my income is VERY limited. Basically we've been flying solo since. I've done a lot of research on online schooling and this is the best I've come across so far. It's both me and my daughter's hope that she'll be caught up and ready for 8th grade come the end of summer. It's going to be a LONG and difficult road ahead for her but I know she can do it.

Recently, I found out that our state has no reporting requirements for homeschoolers. When she enrolls in school I have to bring in her progress reports. I also found out that she has to have 176 academic hours in each subject and 173 hours in physical education/health. I was never told about this and am totally up in arms as what to do about the phys ed. We've been studying overall health and nutrition and I'm hoping that the electives that I've chosen for her will help.