new to homeschooling from VA
    trishtreeann is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default new to homeschooling from VA

hi Im new to this due to my son not getting the help he needed in school. he is behind in reading so i decided to try to get him up to the level he should be at by homeschooling him. ive never home schooled any of my children before so any advice would help.
    thanks,
    teresa

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Hi Teresa, and welcome to the T4L family.

Homeschooling is a journey with lots of hills and curves at times. You and your son might want to take some time to work into everything. One of the beauties of homeschooling is that you can be very flexible.

Are you a member of any local homeschool support groups or local homeschool co-op's? I would check your area by maybe Googling 'homeschool co-op's + your town or a town close to you' and the same for homeschool support groups.

Here is a free e-book just for new homeschooling families that was written by veteran homeschooling families. It's comprehensive without being overwhelming. I also suggest you check out the VA State Forum.

Best Tip==Homeschooling is NOTHING like public school, so don't try to make it like the classroom. ")

Best wishes and be sure to keep us in the loop.
    Joyfully,
    Jackie

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, Teresa.

Welcome to Time4Learning and to the homeschooling community.

You don't say how old your son is. Jackie has given you some great information, the most important of which is that homeschooling is really nothing like public school....or like some of us like to say "brick and mortar" school.