New member: special needs
    Slatteryclan94 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New member: special needs

Hi. My name is Cristina and I am new to all homeschooling and time for learning. I live in illinois. My husband and I have decided our oldest has reached the point where traditional schooling just is not an option. I have four kids, 11,9,9,7. My 11 year old is adopted and suffered some kind of fetal alcohol (they think) which has led to a lot of mental health issues. We have had them all in private Christian school, and they have been willing to work with Joel. However, he is supposed to,enter junior high and is not going to be able to do that. He isn't academically even a 7th grader, let alone emotionally.

I am a teacher. I will be teaching next year at a new school, which my other three kids will attend. Hence, I will not be home to work with Joel. Thankfully, my husband works from home and will be able to help Joel. We have him scheduled for different things, like a hands on science class at a studio, a visual math class for kids at the local college, and time 4 learning.

I don't know how this is going to go,but we feel that it is either this, or he has to go to public school, which we don't want for him. He has an iep in place, but they really won't do much for him. Most of his issues are mental, not physical.

So that is where we are. I know some people ask why I just don't stay home and homeschool all of them. That just isn't an option for us. My other three children do well in school, and the new school I will be in next year is a very academically strong Christian school which normally we could never afford. I don't want to take that away from them. Secondly, due to Joel's many issues, he does not respond well to me. Teaching him would be a nightmare. I think he would just fall further behind.