New to T4L

Thread: New to T4L

FergyGirl is offline Junior Member Newbie

Smile New to T4L

Hello Everyone,

I am new to T4L and could use all the help I can get with figuring out how to use it, and use it to best fit my kiddos.

A little background on us, I am home schooling 5 munchkins. I have 2 preschoolers, a 1st grader, 3rd grader, and 4th grader. I had been using a charter school but last year their workload became insanely intense and my kids and I were hating school. We literally were glued to our chairs from morning until night trying to get done all of the lessons, activities, and extra lessons (designed for SAT prep), that we became so overwhelmed we all just shut down when it came to school. It was such a nightmare!

Because of how bad last school year was for us my kids are a little behind. I pulled them out of the charter school and have been trying to catch them up by doing my own thing, which wasn't working out as well as I had hoped it would. Imagine my excitement when I came across T4L. I literally burst into tears as I saw all that this site had to offer my kids -everything I have been trying to do myself. I am super excited to do this with my kids but a little overwhelmed with how it all works and how to do it for each kid.

My 3rd grader has a mild form of Dyslexia and struggles with reading a whole lot, etc. How can I utilize T4L the very best way for her? Also, since my kids are a little behind from last year should I have them go to the grade below for some review and catch up? If so will that make them a year behind?

I was wondering if anyone can tell me how long each lesson should take? It seemed like my 3rd and 4th graders were on it forever today and I just wanted to know if that was because it was their first day or if that is normal.

If anyone has a good schedule that they can recommend I would greatly appreciate any ideas I can get on how to get everyone through their assignments at a reasonable pace and time frame.