Testing for 1st graders!
    cybermom is offline Junior Member

Post Testing for 1st graders!

Hi everyone!

I'm new to T4L, but not new to homeschooling. We joined T4L last month (Jan 2012). My son was enrolled in the K12.com program through OHVA (Ohio Virtual Academy) when we were in Ohio, but we just moved back to NC in January 2012. I must say that the K12.com program is awesome, they have real teachers that they work with every day and do circle time with their teacher their classmates every day as well. My son misses it so much because it was literraly like being in a classroom but without actually being physically in a school building. He got to talk to his teachers and classmates via webchat and webcam, which he loved, because he is kind of a computer geek already.

I was able to keep all of the main cirriculum work books that they provided us, and we still work out of those as well, so I have more than enough work to keep him busy, in addition to T4L.

However, we moved back to NC right before OHVA was getting ready to do their "winter testing" for the kids, so I was really disappointed that he didn't get to be tested. Because since it was literraly a public school, you have to take your child to a conference center for semester testing to be done by their teacher. It was kind of hard knowing exactly where to pick up when I signed him up with T4L. A lot of the subjects, he had already been through with OHVA, so I didn't wanted to waste a lot of time going through the same thing.

With that said, I would still need to test him before going into the 2nd grade, correct? If so, where do you get testing materials, because he will be turning 7 on March 6th. I've read through the NC Home Schooling Laws, but really didn't see any specifics about testing for his age group. I see that there are tests that you can order on different websites, and they are not cheap. How do I prepare him for this and where do I get the materials for it.