Home school newbie introduction and two questions
    star sapphire is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Home school newbie introduction and two questions

Hello all!
    I just wanted to introduce myself since this is my very first year (upcoming) of homeschooling. I have 4 daughters; one is in tenth, on in 6th, one in 3rd, and one in 1st. My primary reason for homeschooling is due to my 3rd grader's adhd/anxiety disorder and the fact that her teachers from year to year have dismissed our concerns and refuse to educate themselves on adhd and girls (which is not the same as adhd in boys). Their motto, "if we don't see it, it's not there and it must be something you're doing at home".
    Originally we only wanted to homeschool for math (trailblazers aka "fuzzy math") but in NY State it is all or nothing. Our daughter has enormous math anxiety and combining trailblazers with the rigorous test preparation these children have endured, has caused my daughter such emotional anguish and a sense of dread/failure, that my husband and I researched and informed ourselves on homeschooling in NY a few years ago. I am a bit intimidated w/ our strict standards but I'm hoping that this forum and maybe some local groups can reduce that stress. My daughter actually came to us and said "I just wish you could be my teacher and I could stay home with you". It broke my heart but rekindled the flame of homeschooling. I told her she can have me for a teacher and we shared with her our findings (pros and cons) of homeschooling. She is excitedly counting down to her last days at school and coming up with ideas for our new learning adventures. I've never seen her so passionate and ready to learn in her 4 years at school! We are also going to home school our first grader for next year as well, since our struggles with this district go far beyond math and have been in place since we moved here 6 years ago.