Help Please

Thread: Help Please

Momof2girls is offline Junior Member Newbie

Exclamation Help Please

Hi, I am totally new to homeschooling (and clueless...lol), so ANY help would be appreciated! I have 2 girls, 1 in first grade and 1 in 7th grade. My 7th grader has always been a A/B student with no problems until this school year. She has straight A's with the exception of her math (pre-algebra) and science class, she is failing both! Amazing that both these classes are taught by the same teacher and the school is not concerned the least that she will fail her grade unless something is figured out as to why this is occurring. And of course I have been getting nowhere with the teacher the last 9 weeks! So, my husband and I have decided that home schooling seems to be the answer to get her thru this year, and then plan to send her back to her school next year for 8th grade. (I wouldn't mind homeschooling her until highschool, but she really wants to go back with her friends). My biggest fear is her being able to pass the EOG's at the end of this year to get back in school for 8th grade. Her and I have looked thru T4L lessons and we feel that the LA and Math are on track as far as what she is working on in school currently. However, noticed that the Science only goes up to 6th grade, and the SS lessons are about American History (she is working on World History in school).

So, my questions are.....I plan to use T4L for Math and LA along with T4W for essays. Also adding in library weekly visits, field trips, and museum visits. But, does anyone have any sugestions about Science and Social Studies? I guess I am so nervous b/c I want to make sure we cover the right info for her to be on track when she goes back. And is there any requirements in NC as far as how/what I teach....like does it somewhat have to be thru an accredited program?
    And is there anything else that I am missing or not thinking about??