im very new to the homeschool thing if i use the site and buy the work
    Unregistered Guest

Post im very new to the homeschool thing if i use the site and buy the work

Do I have to have a high-school diploma to homeschool My Two children they have been having seizures and health issues I was in Iron Station schools but I moved to Charlotte my kids do not want to be in CMS schools I would like to homeschool them if I pay for this site is this the same as being homeschooled do I need a hose High School diploma to do this and how would I register it for them to be in school someone please help thanks Sarah

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Default Re: im very new to the homeschool thing if i use the site and buy the work

Hi. Most states recognize that a parent is naturally uniquely qualified to teach their own child (after all, they taught them to walk and talk and eat with a spoon . . . ), so few require a high school diploma. North Carolina is one state that DOES require the teaching parent to have a high school diploma or GED.

I'm not sure what you mean when you ask, "Is this the same as being homeschooled?" Time4Learning is one homeschool curriculum that parents can choose to use. It is NOT an online school (which many people mistakenly think of or refer to as "homeschooling").

Pasted below is a summary of your state's homeschool laws. Time4Learning allows anyone to sign up at any time. T4L provides the curriculum and you use it your way. T4L does encourage you to follow the homeschool laws in your state but, like any homeschool curriculum, Time4Learning will not oversee that or "check up on" you. It is the parent's responsibility to know and understand the homeschool laws in their state.

Each state's homeschool laws are very different. The best place to find your state's homeschool laws is your state's Department of Education website.

1. Submit a notice of intent.