Looking forward to meeting other Tarheel homeschoolers!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    topsytechie is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Default Looking forward to meeting other Tarheel homeschoolers!

Welcome to our North Carolina forum thread!! My forum name is Topsytechie, and I have volunteered to be the North Carolina state representative for the Time4Learning Parents Forum! I've been homeschooling in NC for almost ten years now, so I have gained a lot of info about laws and requirements for learning at home here. If you live in NC, and are just beginning your homeschooling journey, you might want to check out my article on the Time4Learning website about how I started homeschooling in North Carolina (and what resources I recommend) or an article I wrote called: "Step by Step Guide to Homeschooling in North Carolina".

Because NC is fairly homeschool-friendly, the numbers of homeschoolers in the state are almost always steadily increasing. According to the most recent statistics, there are now over 70,000 registered homeschool students in North Carolina. This means that there are plenty of regional and local ways to find support, get connected with other homeschoolers, and take part in group homeschool activities. My county, for instance, has a large homeschool cooperative that allows members access to a free lending library, spring and fall enrichment classes, intramural sports opportunities, and scheduled activities. There is even a formal graduation ceremony for students who finish out high school as homeschoolers.

If you would like to find out more about our experience homeschooling in North Carolina, or have questions about home education in NC, be sure to share them here in the forum, or send me a private message at topsytechie. I look forward to hearing from all you homeschooling Tarheels out there!

justThe10ofus is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Re: Looking forward to meeting other Tarheel homeschoolers!