new to homeschooling
    Unregistered Guest

Question new to homeschooling

Hi, I am new to homeschooling this year. I have two children, one in third grade and one in fifth grade. I decided to homeschool after much consideration and research. Now that we have started i'm not sure where to actually start. I also am not sure how to contact or meet others whom are homeschooling in my area. I really want this to be successful for my children and I am really excited to finally get to help my children one on one. Not to mention, I finally get to be with them more than a couple of rushed hours in the evening after working all day. If anyone has any information I would be eternally grateful. Thank you so much.

pandahoneybee is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Congrats on taking the step to homeschool your kiddos I took that step 4 years ago and haven't looked back since!! We have a member locator map here on the site, you could put in your town or a city near you to see if anyone lives near you. Another site that has a great resource pages with groups listed is SecularHomeschool, just in case you wanted to pop over there and check it out. Otherwise you should be able to google homeschool group in ?? area and find something!
    pandahoneybee
    My personal blog- Pandahoneybee's Homeschooling Adventure

karenhs2 is offline Member

Here are a couple more suggestions for finding local homeschoolers:

• Ask at your local library. Try the reference desk and also the children's desk if there is one. Ask more than one time if there are different people there. Sometimes homeschool groups will leave literature. If they are amenable to this, you might also leave your name and contact information with them in case someone else asks. The library might even allow you to start a homeschool activity and post it in the library. You might have to show up alone for a while but it could work eventually.
    • NC Support Groups Support group page for Homeschool Alliance