Questions about getting started...
    Unregistered Guest

Default Questions about getting started...

Hi, I have been considering homeschooling my son for a few months now. I like being able to be slightly flexible and knowing that he is safe. Other than just normal everyday school worries my son also has a severe peanut allergy and our county does not have peanut free schools. I am already stressing about him attending school and accidentally being given food that he can not have by either another student or a substitute. He is only 4 now and would start school next fall. Does anyone have any advice or recommendations on homeschooling curricumlum, websites, and just general information about getting started? I have started doing "school" with him daily. Right now it's only about 30-60 minutes at a times but I am gradually working him up to more so that he will be on a schedule.

Thanks for any information/advice!

Amanda

pandahoneybee is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Hi Amanda!

I suggest using T4L program, when I pulled my boys out of public school it is was I used!! It was so easy for them to get on and do their lessons. then I would make "unit study" ideas for them (for whatever extra they were interested in) Right now doing a snake on for my youngest!

Here are some links to help you navigate T4L:
    Hints and Helps

Getting Started Using Time4Learning

I also recommend looking over Time4Learning's free "Welcome to Homeschooling" guide for all new homeschoolers, for anyone who is just starting out.
    pandahoneybee
    My personal blog- Pandahoneybee's Homeschooling Adventure

karenhs2 is offline Member

Amanda, where are you located? One piece of getting started is meeting some other homeschoolers so that you are not going it all alone. Here are two sources to check:
    Regions - North Carolinians for Home Education
    Support Groups | HA-NC