curriculum

Thread: curriculum

mom2jpaj is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default curriculum

Hello, I am new to homeschooling, have been doing it since beginning of feb. My son has autism,adhd and other medical issues and he wasn't getting what he needed at the public school so I made the decision to homeschool him, he is 11 yo doing 2 grade work for everything but math which is at a 1 grade level he loves time4learning, we have been doing this and book work, and he is overwhelmed. Can I just do time4learning, or do i have to do both. We live in fl and I am just nervous. Any responses would be appreciated.

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, mom2jpaj.

I live in Florida, too. My daughter has Down syndrome and she is also working at a 1st grade level in math, second grade science and social studies, but a 3rd/4th grade level in Language Arts. One of the wonderful benefits of using Time4Learning and homeschooling is that we can meet our kids at the level their at. We can have them work at their pace, challenging them and working them at a level where they won't become overwhelmed. You've only just begun homeschooling, so you're still learning what a good balance for this is. Don't beat yourself up and don't be nervous. Though I know it's easier said than done. I have my daughter evaluated by a certified teacher who is also a homeschool mom. I prefer a homeschool certified teacher because she is familiar with homeschooling and has the same mindset we have. She also gives me tips and advise on how to work with my dd with academics.

In Florida the requirement of the law says that the student must show progress at the end of the year. This is hard for us to see as we're working with them day to day. It's like physical growth. It's hard for us to see how much our children have grown throughout the school year when we're with our children daily.