Hello

Thread: Hello

mommygirl is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Hello

Hello
    I am new to this and am joining this to hopefully get some support for the decision I'm thinking about making. I have an 11 year old son on the spectrum, with behavioral issues (admitted to inpatient psych twice). He can be the sweetest loving boy one moment and completely tormented the next. He is on Wellbutrin and Geodone which both work amazingly for him. I hate the idea of drugs in my child but compared to his quality of life without them I appreciate them. He has been attending a special program for kids with behavioral issues for about 1 and a half years but I'm finding that they often don't know how to meet his specific needs. He is also learning some horrible things from the other kids in this program which he brings home and doesn't understand how offensive they are. I am a stay at home mom/student myself, I am seriously considering getting him out of the system and teaching him at home. I'm a little nervous as I like a break when he is out of the house, but for the amount of phone calls I receive about his behavior at school I might as well have him home where he is comfortable and happy. Is that wrong to have him secure and comfortable??? I don't understand why it's necessary to start stress at such a young age. Children with special needs are just that. I look forward to reading posts and getting encouragement. I have both excitement and apprehension about this but I think I'm just going to do it.
    Nice to meet all of you.
    Carla

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Hi Carla! I am sending hugs your way. I completely understand you wanting AND needing a break sometimes. We all do, even those without special needs kids. And, no, it is not wrong to want your son to be secure and comfortable at all! It is completely the right thing to want.