Help for member . . . diagnosing dyslexia?
    hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Default Help for member . . . diagnosing dyslexia?

This was accidentally posted elsewhere on the site, so I'm moving it for this member.

Hi, I'm new at home-schooling, so I'm still feeling my way around the support system we have in place. I've had this growing concern about the way my granddaugher is learning. I notice it way back when she was in the first grade but, figured she'd grow out of it. She has a tendency to turn her letters around, she uses b's for d's and vice-a-versa, and also with some of her numbers as well. But, what troubles me the most is she has a problem retaining small words like say, this, me, said. She could have just read it in a previous sentence and not remember that same word in the next. When she was in school I mentioned this the staff, and asked she be tested for dyslexia which she wasn't, instead was recommended for an ISP team for additional help. Still she stuggled. She was in the fourth grade, reading and comprehending on a second grade level, constantly stuggling to keep up. That was just one of the reasons I removed her and began home-schooling. The second grade was the jumping off point to start her on. I've seen lots of progress since we've started home-schooling along with the individualized instructions. My question is this; I'm still noticing the same things, How can I find out if she is dsylexic, so I know how to proceed with her education? Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, to all of you out there

FROM BROSS61585
    Last edited by hearthstone_academy; 05-18-2010 at 12:34 PM.

Mom of six . . . current students and homeschool graduates. Enjoying using Time4Learning since 2006!

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

And a reply from FiveBlessed:

Hi! I'm certainly not an expert, but I'll try to help you out here! Warm welcome!