Homeschooling 8 year old with Aspergers and APD
    smithcheryl is offline Junior Member Newbie

Smile Homeschooling 8 year old with Aspergers and APD

I'm new to homeschool (been doing it four past 3 months) and Time for learning. My son has a hard time with hand writing. Keep words on that lines spacing apart and then spelling. Not to mention sometimes he is a little resistent to learn at times and can be stressful. I'm contemplating putting him back in school next year. Anyone have any input?

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Sometimes it just takes time to find your niche in homeschooling. I would encourage you to take the summer and continue to homeschool so you can both find your way together. I would also suggest you find local homeschool support groups and co-ops to get involved with. Don't give up!
    Joyfully,
    Jackie

Bridget Bee is offline Junior Member Newbie

Quote Originally Posted by smithcheryl View Post
    I'm new to homeschool (been doing it four past 3 months) and Time for learning. My son has a hard time with hand writing. Keep words on that lines spacing apart and then spelling. Not to mention sometimes he is a little resistent to learn at times and can be stressful. I'm contemplating putting him back in school next year. Anyone have any input?
    Could it be a sensory issue? My son as AS and APD. You might try weighting down his pencil and see if that helps any. Or when he is being taught, can he sit in a rocking chair or indoor swing?

Brook Simmons is offline Senior Member

My child has many diagnoses but OCD and ADHD are her two main concerns for us. She hates writing. We have tried special pencils ( the dumbo affect), special hand grips and her teacher found different handgrips than me that looked like it was for pinching the pencil. She gets all excited about it until its time to write.