How to teach a dyslexic child multiplication tables ?????
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    audom is offline Junior Member

Default How to teach a dyslexic child multiplication tables ?????

Help...Help....Help... I am new in homeschooling my 8-year old grandson who is dyslexic. Reading and writing he dislikes completely, but he likes Math and his logic works well. He masters now addition and subtraction. But with multiplication he has a problem cause he cannot remember the tables. His memory is very weak. Is there any parent or teacher out there who knows a method or a trick or a helpful way to make my boy remember multiplication tables ??? He helps himself by counting with his fingers which works fine for small numbers likes X 2 and X 3, but with bigger numbers like X 4 and up he is lost. Thanks for reading and I will appreciate your help. Gisela

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, Gisela. Math is the most difficult subject for my daughter. It's wonderful that he really likes math. So he may like some games or other tricks and tips for math concepts. I've picked up a few from Pinterest. You can just do a search on Pinterest on Dyslexia Multiplication. Here are a couple of links to some boards on Dyslexia:
    DYSLEXIA
    Dyslexia is a Learning Difference

Also, one of the Time4Learning veteran moms wrote an e-booklet on Successfully Homeschooling Your Child with Dyslexia.

I hope these things help. Maybe someone else will chime in on what has worked with their child.
    Janet
    enjoying homeschooling and learning with my kids, using T4L and T4W
    blogging our homeschool experiences at The Learning Hourglass

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Hi Gisela,

I posted your question on our Facebook page today (Sunday, Nov. 17) in hopes you will get more responses.

https://www.facebook.com/Time4Learning

Quote Originally Posted by audom View Post