New to forum - have a child with autism
    janylaw is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New to forum - have a child with autism

Hi,

I'm new to T4L - doing the 14 day trial. My son has autism, but is pretty high functioning. I'm also new to home schooling having suffered with my son's home district for the last 6 years. After losing a battle to have my son retained, I decided to home school him rather than send him on to middle school and I know he's not ready. Wondering if there are any other parents with children with autism, if so - how is your child doing? Also, can you concentrate on a few subjects? Can your child also move forward if he makes the necessary progress?

In regard to the forum - is this a pretty active group? Anybody in the state of WA? Anyway - I do hope that my son likes this one. I'm anxious to get started. Plan on augmenting this with his weekly violin/piano lessons and soccer practice. Anyway, I do hope this works and I'm looking forward to checking in here often.

Janice

ambertopaz75 is offline Senior Member

Default Re: New to forum - have a child with autism

Hi Janice. Welcome. I got ur message but I am on my phone. Hopefully our computer is fixed sooon so I can send u a message baack. My phone doesn't seem to wanna cooperate today. @ work so can't chat but wanted to welcome u.
    Amber
    13y/o son with PDD-NOS

timmysmom is offline Member

Hello Janice,

We also were thrust into homeschooling when our school district also did not want to help us meet our little guys' needs. He is 8 y/o and high functioning autistic.

My son does well with this program and it allows us flexibility that we need that we really did not have when he was in ps.

The parents on this board are wonderful and are usually around to answer questions.