New Here/Anyone doing DAN protocol?/Any PANDAS children?
    sweeks is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New Here/Anyone doing DAN protocol?/Any PANDAS children?

Hi,

I am new to time4learning and new to the forum. Here is my story (as brief as I can make it!):

My 5 year old has severl different dx's but the one that forced us into homeschooling is PANDAS (pediatric autoimmune neuropsychiatric disorder associated with streptococcal infections). When he gets a strep infection he develops OCD and Tourette's symptoms overnight. This school year has proven to be the worst for strep infections, one after another, so I began to think that there may be a "strep carrier" in his class. I decided to homeschool him to see how I/he likes it and to see if his symptoms disappear. We are now one week into it and I am very pleased at how well he is doing and how much I enjoy homeschooling (even though he is a handful right now)!

His other dx's (which I believe are all related to PANDAS): Sensory Processing Disorder, dyspraxia, Adaptive Disorder.

Also, I was wondering if anyone here has done/is doing the DAN protocol? I have been doing it for both of my boys (I also have a 21 month old who began developing early signs of autism at the age of 12 months). The success I have seen with this has been too good to be true. My 5 year old's auditory proc. dis. has completely disappeared, as has his allergies and asthma/croup - COMPLETELY! The baby's autistic signs completely disappeared, too. When my friend saw what was happening to my children she immediately got her PDD-NOS child to the DAN doctor and he came off the spectrum within a couple of months. I realize that this is a very hot topic (DAN protocol, vaccines, etc.) and I don't wish to get into a debate about it (I have been told off by one too many people for going this route)...just thought I would share our experience for anyone who is interested!

I look forward to getting to know some of you!
    Stephanie
    Florida