Son with Aspergers Struggles with Worksheets
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Son with Aspergers Struggles with Worksheets

write4myboys is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Son with Aspergers Struggles with Worksheets

Hi, all! I am new to Time 4 Learning, and homeschooling my 6 year old son. I have found that while he excels with the computer-based format of T4L, I am struggling horribly with motivating him to do anything on paper. I have workbooks that I have been using to reinforce information from the lessons, but I feel like every time we sit down to work on them, he starts staring into space, playing with his pencil, fidgeting, and doing anything and everything other than doing the work.

I feel as though I am constantly nagging at him to finish his worksheets, and I just don't want his homeschooling to be this way. I've tried starting the day with them, ending the day with them, sprinkling them throughout the day, it makes no difference. Once he gets the pencil in his hand, it's all over. He wants nothing to do with it.

Anybody else with this type of experience? Any suggestions? Maybe he doesn't need the worksheets? Maybe I'm just being too old-school about it and not shaking my preconceptions? How else can I reinforce writing skills? I know that I can reinforce the concepts with him just through talking to him, but what about those motor skills for writing? Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated - I am at such a loss.

TNAutismBorden is offline Junior Member