Teaching a child with ASD to Read-Feeling Overwhelmed!

Default Teaching a child with ASD to Read-Feeling Overwhelmed!

My son is about to be 7. He has ASD. I have been working with him for two years. I spent the first six months trying to teach him the alphabet. We studied a letter a week. There were arts and crafts, games, worksheets, and many other techniques involved that were all unsuccessful. Believe me, it was not due to a lack of trying! I researched and many parents suggested Leap Frog Videos. Wow, what do you know, 3 WEEKS LATER, the child knew the alphabet! He still struggles with saying the letters sometimes but he knows the sounds that every letter makes. We are working on that now. He is able to read words such as "cat" , "bat" ...... I then invested quite a bit of money in a curriculum that proved to be way to advanced. It moved way too quickly. He became frustrated and at times I did as well. So here I am on T4L, hoping for some positive feedback from my child. We are new to the site so we will see how it goes!

rickvon2010 is offline Member