Do you supplement for Science and Social Studies?
    JACCsMom is offline Junior Member

Default Do you supplement for Science and Social Studies?

I just tried registering through Gateway this week for my umbrella school, and they called me and told me that using T4L for LA & Math is fine, but I would need to find something else to go with the Science and Social Studies portions. I was surprised to hear this.

This is my first year homeschooling, and I was under the impression that T4L would be enough to cover the core curriculum.

So, my question is do you supplement for these courses? What do you use (I have a 3rd and 6th grader)? And what umbrella school do you use (if you don't care to share)?

Thanks for the help!!

MamaToHerRoo is offline Senior Member

I would share my umbrella with you but the reality is I do not live in Tennessee so it wouldn't help you much! My umbrella school leaves it totally up to me what I teach, so it has never been a problem for us. I let my daughter move at her own pace for science (which is generally very fast) and completed the T4L offerings in science about a year or so early. Because of this I did supplement science. In T4L the science and social studies are really offered as a bonus and are not updated as regularly as math and LA which are kept at or above state standards. I hope this helped, maybe someone could chime in and tell you how they worked through science and social studies.
    Linda
    Homeschooling one for 8 years and counting!

Unregistered Guest

Default Tennessee Umbrella school

Quote Originally Posted by JACCsMom View Post
    I just tried registering through Gateway this week for my umbrella school, and they called me and told me that using T4L for LA & Math is fine, but I would need to find something else to go with the Science and Social Studies portions. I was surprised to hear this.