How to teach good citizenship?
    Unregistered Guest

Default How to teach good citizenship?

I am completely new to homeschooling, so forgive me if this is a silly question. What are some ways to fulfill the requirement of teaching good citizenship? My child is in 8th grade.

Unregistered Guest

Default Civics/Government

In Texas, they mean government and civics when the say "good citizenship". I wish they'd just say that so we could stop being confused! When you cover the branches of government, US and Texas history, voting, the free enterprise system (economics), etc. you are filling this requirement. You can, of course find resources for teaching government and economics pretty readily.

I also recommend doing things like tracking elections as they come up, attending city council meetings, school board meetings, and other community government meetings. Take field trips to the state capitol and city hall. If you have the chance, visit D.C. - you can do a virtual visit by using various web and library resources. Investigate how a private citizen can contact their governing officials to make requests or to hold them to promises made. For economics, start a small business or have your child run a garage sale. Do a virtual stock trading portfolio and talk about what various economic news means. Explore how supply and demand work and take a look at how product quality, customer service, advertising and other parts of a business contribute to increasing demand.

This is all just brainstorming. Thankfully this subject is one that you have exposure to on a daily basis. It's just a question of pointing out and explaining that exposure to your child.

Unregistered Guest

I also found this: A Course of Study in Good Citizenship: Lower Elementary

It's geared for elementary school but should give you some ideas of which directions to explore.

jcsalinas Guest

Default Citizenship