Starting out new
    Unregistered Guest

Default Starting out new

Hi,

I am somewhat new to the homeschooling world. My son (now 19) did Virtual Academy for two years of high school and loved it. I have twin daughters that are going to be entering Pre-K and we really like the homeschooling aspect. In my research, to do virtual academy in Texas, they have to do three years of traditional school, but I do not see that requirement for regular homeschooling. My question is, what is the end result? If I choose to do only regular homeschooling, how would they end up getting credit as completing high school? Is it through a GED? Also, can they do homeschooling and transfer to Virtual Academy after the first three years? I want to make the best decisions for my children, and honestly, I kind of wished my mom had put me through homeschooling of some sort. Probably would have stayed out of some trouble!

Thanks for any advice and direction you can give me.

Shana Jones
    San Angelo, TX

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Starting out new

Hi, Shana.

When homeschooling, the parent decides what the student needs to do to graduate from the family's home school. You decide what equals a credit. You decide how many credits your child needs to graduate. You may give credit for after school jobs, volunteer work, Scouts, 4H, arts and crafts your student enjoys, music lessons, educational DVDs or computer games, and casual parental instruction in things like cooking or auto mechanics. You keep all records, and you prepare a homeschool transcript for your child.