6th grade & gifted vs. marginal T4L reviews
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By hearthstone_academy

Thread: 6th grade & gifted vs. marginal T4L reviews

RoamingRVer is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default 6th grade & gifted vs. marginal T4L reviews

My wife and I are pretty sure that we are going to (something)-school our daughter next year. She's in 5th grade this year and is currently above grade level in reading and math. She qualified for the gifted & talented classes for next year in reading, math, and something else. We want to do some kind of alternative schooling for because we would like to spend the year traveling the country.

I'm very new in my search for schooling options. I know we want a secular program. I've run the gamut of using a public cyber school like Connections Academy to purchasing curriculum from somewhere like K12 to using T4L. The public/cyber school feels a little too structured BUT I very much liked the idea of having teachers available as her primary instruction givers vs. my wife and I. My wife and her clash when it comes to learning and I need to work full-time.

I have read a few blogger reviews that say T4L is good up until about 5th grade and then the material becomes a bit rudimentary. Given that she's going into 6th grade for the 2015-2016 school year and is generally considered above grade level, this is a very real concern for me.

I also have a fear of the low pricing for T4L vs. all of the other options that I have looked at (anywhere from $5,000+ per year to $500 for materials and $100/month). We have decent schools in our area and if she returns to public school the following year, I'd be heartbroken if she's no longer able to get into the G/T programs or worse-case scenario, behind.

To quote Jack Skellington, "my skull's so full, it is tearing me apart!"

-FreakedOutDaddy

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Dad!