Confused, terrified, sad...7th grade son hates school
    dstovall is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Confused, terrified, sad...7th grade son hates school

My son is in the seventh grade. He is passing all of his courses. Scottish Rite diagnosed him with Dyslexia and an Anxiety Disorder in the third grade. He recently was diagnosed with mild Aspergers. He hates school. He begs me daily to homeschool him because he hates the teachers yelling. He has stomach aches that begin at night and continue into the morning. He has stopped eating breakfast for fear of getting sick. I'm scared because we own our own business and I am super busy during the day but I do work from home. It is breaking my heart every day that I send him to school BUT I am terrified that I will fail him. I graduated from The University of Texas at Dallas so I am educated but terrified. Can someone let me know if this program is easy, dyslexia friendly and mommy friendly? I have no idea what I am doing to the inside of his body putting him through the stress of school. I love my son and it is breaking my heart not knowing which path I should take.

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

Dstovall, hugs to you! I hear your pain and certainly understand your feelings of fear. My DD is 14 and has ADHD, Dyslexia, Dysgraphia, and CAPD. Time4Learning works great for her. School caused her to have panic attacks. At his age, he can do much of his lessons independently. You will NOT fail him. He needs a break and to be able to work at his own pace. T4L will allow him to do just that. He will also have access to grades 6, 7, and 8 if you place him at grade 7 because you are allowed access to the grade above and the grade below where you are placed. This works great for those who might be ahead in one subject, but behind in another.

Try some of the demo lessons with your son. Also, they offer a free 2 week trial to test drive the program.