Considering Homeschooling
    Chrismis79 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Considering Homeschooling

My son will be 12 in February, he is in public school currently in the 5th grade. He has always struggled in school. Mainly in reading but now writing as well. He is on a 4th grade lvl now in reading. He excels in Math however. I work full-time, but I'm a nurse working 3-4, 12hr NIGHT shifts/wk (not to mention trying to start a home based biz!). My son also has ADHD. He has started getting bullied at school and has asked for many yrs to do homeschooling. I haven't because I work full-time and just didn't think it was possible. I am a single mom also with little support and no working relationship with his father. I feel in my heart homeschooling would be the best for him so I'm doing my research and if it truly just takes a few hours per day and much of it is independent I think it could be done. He is a night owl like me so we could do his work late evenings/night when I'm off. I'm not worried about socializing, he plays sports and in scouting and youth group. I would also look into music or art lessons maybe. I had considered the online public school option bc I thought it would be less demand on me since they have a teacher, but sounds like a lot of busy work and I don't like the regimented schedule.
    My concerns right now are:
    Given what I have said, do you think it is feasible for me to homeschool successfully?
    How much time per week will I need to make myself available to him for school?
    How much can he just sit and do on his own?
    Does it truly cost only 20$/mo for this program or are there other costs as well? Is there a lot of extra supplies and books that you have to buy, or is everything available mainly online?
    Christine

angeleyes1307 is offline Member