Considering Homeschooling for my 10th Grader
    RDishon is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Considering Homeschooling for my 10th Grader

My son is having a difficult time with bullying in public schools so I am considering homeschooling. We live in Virginia and I am having a difficult time understanding the homeschooling laws. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated since I am completely new to the idea.

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Considering Homeschooling for my 10th Grader

Hi! Welcome to the Time4Learning parent forum!

I always point anyone who is homeschooling a high school student in the direction of the Let's Homeschool High School site.

All fifty states allow a parent to issue a high school diploma for their own student. Employers are not allowed to discriminate against homeschool diplomas. Colleges are more interested in a student's entrance exam scores than in how they learned what they know. Many colleges actively recruit homeschooled students.

When homeschooling, the parent decides what the student must do to graduate from the family's home school. The parent decides how many credits they need and in which subjects they need credit. The parent decides what equals a credit. It is common to give credit for nontraditional things. For example, most kids receive a driver's ed credit simply for obtaining their driver's license. Parents also give credit for arts and crafts, Scouts, 4H, activities in church or other organizations, piano lessons, organized sports or driveway basketball with a sibling, volunteer work or part time jobs, and casual parental instruction in things like cooking or auto mechanics.

Just keep a calendar with big spaces and write things on the correct dates like, "Walk around the neighborhood, P.E., 3 minutes" or "Cooked family dinner, Home Ec, one hour" or "Interviewed for job at McDonalds, Life Skills, thirty minutes".