Considering switching to T4L - any feedback, advice is appreciated
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sudie

Thread: Considering switching to T4L - any feedback, advice is appreciated

sudie is offline Junior Member

Default Considering switching to T4L - any feedback, advice is appreciated

Hi, everyone,

This is my first year homeschooling and against many friends' advice, I went with Georgia Cyber Academy because it was free and sending all the needed curriculum. However, it has been quite overwhelming, frustrating, and overall, a negative experience.

Can anyone tell me the differences of T4L - what sets it apart from other homeschool options? How much time is expected to be spent on the computer for the lessons (son is 4th grader) and how much is actually learning work versus busy work? Also, will he be required to take the state mandated tests?

Any and all feedback is much appreciated. I don't think either one of us has cried as much as we have the last few months.

Thanks,
    Sudie

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Sudie. It sounds like Georgia Cyber Academy is an online public school, where the student's education is overseen by a teacher and you must adhere to certain requirements regarding time spent and what is studied.

Time4Learning is not a school. Time4Learning is a homeschool curriculum. People often get confused about the difference, because they consider any school done at home to be "homeschooling". That is not the legal definition.

In homeschooling, the parent is the teacher of record and makes all the decisions. Homeschool parents are subject to the homeschool laws in their own state. People are often surprised at how flexible true homeschooling can be. Many states simply require that you notify them of your intent to homeschool. Others want your student tested each year, or every few years. A very few want an outline of your curriculum (and Time4Learning provides that in easily printable form).