Experienced homeschooling parent with questions about the platform
    Momschooler is offline Junior Member Newbie

Smile Experienced homeschooling parent with questions about the platform

Hi all...
    I'm a mom who homeschools two children, 12 and 15. I've been homeschooling for four years now, and attend University myself under a dual major and I'm preparing for masters, so this year I'm adding some features to the children's learning that can be undertaken when I, myself, am on campus. I am there twelve hours a day two days a week, usually, and the alternating days are dedicated to lecture and class time. This means I like to keep my kids working when not in class time, just as would be expected of them in college.

T4L appears to be at least an elemental platform that can supplement lecture and lab, from what I can tell. There are some things that I don't like in just a first review at the curriculum, so I wonder if anyone here can speak to those concerns:

-The animation is dated and unsophisticated and the videos are pure cheese even at upper level.
    I worry that my children will lose patience with the 'schtick'. I can see where this might work for Elementary students, but my kids are used to college level lectures, as many homeschooling children are.

-The printables appear to be loaded with unnecessary, ink-sucking graphics
    (Are there friendlier options?)

-There appears to be a limit of a couple years either side of 'expected' grade level.
    To me this is a real deal breaker. I pulled my kids out of public schools because I wanted the freedom to teach based on interest. In some areas, they are just beginning, in others, they surpass. T4L seems to expect me to have followed a linear progression of foundational learning. Is there a work around on this?

Common Core alignment
    This is another deal breaker for me. Studying education myself (soon to be college professor) I see some huge issues with CC. Are there alternatives?