First Year of Homeschooling
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By hearthstone_academy
  • 1 Post By onlyme4430
  • 2 Post By Jim M

Thread: First Year of Homeschooling

Courtney Crosland is offline Junior Member

Question First Year of Homeschooling

Hello! I am a former classroom teacher, and when we decided to homeschool, I spent hours researching curriculum and a fortune buying this said curriculum. I tried it for a few weeks and felt immediately that it was all wrong. They were incredibly bored; therefore, they weren't learning a thing. I felt that there was absolutely no engagement. I want my kids to enjoy learning! My friend recently told me about Time4Learning so I decided to look into it. It almost seems too good to be true. I worry that my kids will have fun, but won't learn. But it's because I've been taught as a teacher that everything has to be done a certain way, and I'm having a hard time letting that go.
    A few questions. I've been told that there's a lot of spiraling in the curriculum. Is there any focus on mastery at all? I believe in lots of review and learning new concepts at the same time. I want to make sure they're also memorizing important math facts as that is not important in the public school and believe it is necessary. With science, are there any hands-on activities? Or is it all on the computer? I don't want my kids to just focus on the computer screen all day because that's not beneficial either. My boys, especially, are hands-on learners.
    Thanks!

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Courtney. All of my kids have used T4L as their core curriculum and all have been ready for college at age 16. One graduated from college, two did college courses to replace their last year of high school, one is currently a college student, and two are still using Time4Learning. Yes, they will learn . . . as well as enjoy the process.