I am thinking about using this program
    sdturner is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default I am thinking about using this program

Hello,
    I am new to the forum and home schooling. My name is Shana and I have 4 children. 1-senior, 1-7th grader, 1 fifth grader, and 1 second grader. All of my children are in the gifted program at school. I am a certified special education teacher. I took this year off because my husband is in Iraq and so I could be there if my kids needed me. Thank God that I did.

I just recently decieded to home school my 7th grade son due to health problems. The school was not helping with all of the absences due to the issues he was dealing with, so I made the decision to pull him out.

I have been looking at this program and I have a few questions. It appears that many people experience problems understanding how to use the program. Does it just take a while to understand how to use it?

I have read tonight that there is no science or social studies for 7th graders. But I think I read in a different section that they do offer this now. Which is correct?

Are there fun activities designed for the older children or just for the younger children (computer games)?

Do you find that the older children are eager to use the program?

I am looking at this as my main source of information for home schooling and some other sources for electives. Do you find that this program is enough? I have read in other posts where there were only a few lessons in some areas.

I am going to set up the 2 week trial tomorrow I think for my son to evaluate but this might not happen until Wed due to more DRs appointments.
    I am sorry I have so many questions but this is all VERY new to me and not what I had been planning to do this year. I want to find something quick but I want to insure that it is worth while and truely educational. Thank you Shana

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Shana. Welcome to the board!