Need help reasoning with the other parent!
    shavonsweda is offline Junior Member

Default Need help reasoning with the other parent!

Hello everyone,
    I am new to T4L. I haven't officially started, but would like to after summer. I have a daughter that just finished 4th grade and has gone to the same public school from the start. She has always loved to learn, is outgoing, caring, and always done really well academically and socially. We have had some great experiences thru the years, but I have noticed some things last year and this year I wasn't to happy about...such as... some students getting passed to the next grade level when CLEARLY they should not of been...also some teaching styles... mehhh..not so great...and the student to teacher ratio is crazy!! Also here in Arizona there is a BIG emphasis placed on AIMS testing. I feel that because the classroom sizes are so large and all year long they prep them for AIMS, there is not a whole lot of time spent on individual learning needs..(i know i am not the only one who thinks this, its probably just the 'norm' for public school). Homeschooling is something i have been wanting to do for about 2 years now. I finally realized...what am i waiting for??! I have the circumstances to homeschool her and i know she will get a better one to one education and enjoy several other benefits. I also have some friends that homeschool there children that have helped inspired me as well. And all of my daughters friends she spends time with are not at school they are in are christian congregation..so she is not going to be missing out on an socialization. So here is the deal... I have been married for 5 years & have a great supportive husband, whom is on board with my journey to home school my only daughter age 10(his step-daughter)...however her natural father is not keen to the idea of having her do homeschool. On his side of the family she is the baby of 5 children. All his children attend public school, they are really gre