New to homeschool
    annetteesquivel is offline Junior Member

Default New to homeschool

Hi!

My name is Annette, this is my first attempt at homeschool with my daughter Alyssa (7) she went to public school for kindergarten and first grade. She was constantly sick. And missed so much school that in kindergarten the school threatened to file charges on me.

We have decided that homeschooling will work with our spiritual goals as a family. We are Jehovah's Witnesses and this will allow us to put our ministry first.

I love the idea of teaching her at home. We are all excited to get started on this new journey. Although I'm not sure where to start. I've setup her login but have not yet added anything. Is there an order to classes, etc? Also, is there a set amount of time that has to be done or could we do the work at times that are most convenient for us?

Thank you for any help or suggestion.

Annette

Momma to my precious Alyssa

hearthstone_academy is offline Administrator
    Blog Entries

Hi, Annette. I know it can be confusing at first. Soon, you'll be giving homeschool advice to others.

Time4Learning isn't a school. It's a homeschool curriculum, so YOU are the teacher of record. You make all the decisions regarding scheduling and so forth. You might be confusing "homeschooling" with enrollment in an online school or a public-school-at-home program. Many people mistakenly refer to that type of school as "homeschooling", because the work is done at home. With real homeschooling, the parent directs the child's education. It's a good idea to follow your own state's homeschool laws and each state's laws are different, but you generally have a lot more flexibility and freedom when you homeschool.