New to Homeschooling, falling behind, 3rd and 4th grades
    berberlinn is offline Junior Member Newbie

Question New to Homeschooling, falling behind, 3rd and 4th grades

This is my first year homeschooling. Tried a virtual school 2 years ago through K12 and hated it. Nothing but tears and stress all around. Kids back in public school last year, attitudes and bad language started coming home. Trying to homeschool on my own this year and nothing seems to be working. They hate the choices I've made, and trying to find a secular program is dang near impossible within my small budget. I've seen on here that some use this as a complete program and others supplement. How will I know if I need to supplement or if this will be all we need? My girls are so far behind right now I don't even know what to do to catch them up. We also need structure with the ability to work on areas that they struggle with, will this give me the structure we need but the flexibility to work slower (or move ahead)? Any advice is appreciated as I really have no support from family and no clue on what I'm doing. Thank you, Amber

bbooth is offline Member

Hello and welcome! I have used this curriculum for two years and have not had to supplement until third grade, and only with math and social studies. I feel that some subjects need to be supplemented but that is your decision. You will know if your child is not quite grasping something and then add things from there. I normally add worksheets and field trips. Hope this helps.

RhondaL is offline Junior Member