New to Homeschooling, where do I start?
    Dink is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New to Homeschooling, where do I start?

Hi I am new to Homeschooling and I not exactly sure where to start. My 17 year old in 11 grade started having difficulty with teachers and fellow class mates so I have unenrolled him from our local public school. He still wants to get his high school dipoloma and we are are checking out this site. Questions, How do I meet the Georgia standards for testing so he can get get a diploma? Also is this program flexible so he could take his classess at any time during the day or night, he is considering a job to help the family out but I didn't know if he could work during the day and do the work at night or how does that work? I just need a little guidance in getting started.
    Thanks
    Dink

lovehmschlg is offline Forum Moderator

Hi, Dink.

We've been homeschooling our kids for 13 years now. Our daughter graduates this year. Time4Learning is an online program/curriculum used by many homeschoolers around the world. It is all completely done on the internet, so your son can sign on and do it at any time of the day or night. It's a program designed for students to work on at their own pace. That's one of the things we love about it.

You should know, though, because Time4Learning is not a school but rather a tool/curriculum used by homeschooling families, students do not automatically graduate upon completing the T4L courses. Time4Learning is an online curriculum. Parents are the acting "Teacher of Record", and the home in which they teach is considered the school students will graduate from. As the teacher of record, it is up to the parent to compare Time4Learning with state standards to make sure that graduation requirements are satisfied. It is also the parent's responsibility to prepare transcripts.