New to the Idea of Homeschooling. Advice? Opinions?
    aldelimont is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default New to the Idea of Homeschooling. Advice? Opinions?

I have two boys that are currently enrolled to start Pre-K this year. We are new to the area and are slowly realizing we may have made a mistake by choosing this location. I was excited and all for my boys to get out and start public school, which would give me time with my young daughter, but we feel that they would be better off being taught at home for the time being. Can anyone tell me your positive and negative experiences on homeschool? I'm afraid I may be taking on too much with this since I also have a 12 month old daughter, but I most definitely want what will be best for my children's education. Thanks for the responses!

jpenn is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

I think the good outweighs the bad for me. In the beginning, I was too public schoolish for my daughter. I was a classroom teacher so I ran our homeschool like my classroom--not the answer at all! I should have taken a little time for my daughter to de-school first, and I should have taken into account her learning challenges. It's not like I wasn't aware of them, just wanted to make sure I covered EVERYTHING she might need as far as schooling goes. I should have been more in tune with what she was interested in and focusing on that in order to cover her weak areas.

You can homeschool with a baby, many do it everyday. When the baby is sleeping you can accomplish one-on-one learning. Using Time4Learning will make the process much easier since they do the record keeping and have all the lessons laid out for you. Your boys will love the playground. At such a young age, you really don't have to put in many hours a day at all. Short lessons are better anyway. Having fun and learning go together so well at the pre-k age.
    Joyfully,
    Jackie

Yca
    Yca is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

The definite positives are: