Newbie Here

Thread: Newbie Here

TXMom is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Newbie Here

Well I just signed up for the free trial today and am looking forward to using this program.
    A bit about myself. Been married for 12 yrs, daughter just turned 12 and my son is 10. We decided not to send them to school due to our own personal experiences there ourselves. Both of us had subjects we were good at and subjects we weren't good at and felt our own experience with public school wasn't very good.
    We've been doing most of the teaching ourselves. Both of our kids have subjects they are good at, but there are subjects they aren't good at. I hope Time4Learning can help in the subjects they struggle with.
    My daughter for instance is just terrible in math, and I know that she is behind for her age. I feel for her as I watch her struggle with this subject. She is often embarrassed cause she isn't very good with math, she is behind and some kids in our neighborhood have made fun of her. I keep telling her it is ok, I too was terrible in math in school and was very behind in that subject myself. Even with terrible progress in math, I kept getting put in the next grade which is something I never understood. Til this day, math is very difficult for me.
    My son on the other hand is terrible in language arts. He isn't a great reader and struggles with some issues of language arts that according to the grade levels set by the government, he should be farther along.
    I for one have never really understood this whole grade level thing, lol. Personally, I believe each child is an individual and has their own strengths and weeknesses in various subjects. While math and language arts are subjects my kids struggle with, they are incredibly intelligent in other areas.
    I hope Time4Learning can help them with the subjects they struggle with. I know I will have to continue helping them in these areas, but I hope this program will also help as well.