NY moms????

Thread: NY moms????

ministrymom is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default NY moms????

Anyone else homeschool in NY state and use only this for homeschooling? does it meet all the requirements or do you add anything?? this is my first year homeschooling and could use any advice or help from other NY homeschooling moms! thanks
    Mom of Caleb '05, Jered '06, Isaac '07, David and Mira '09, Baby Zoe Faith due in June!

Walk by faith and not by sight!!!

fairylover is offline Senior Member
    Blog Entries

You might want to ask this question on the New York parent forum. If you look at the top of this page, you will see a tab marked state forums. Click on that and then click on New York from the drop down menu. I am the moderator of the New York forum. We would love to have you stop over and look around. It also depends on the age of your child. Required subjects "For grades one through six: arithmetic, reading, spelling, writing, the English language, geography, United States history, science, health education, music, visual arts, physical education, bilingual education and/or English as a second language where the need is indicated." You would probably have to find a way to include health education, music (some people just listen to music in various styles others take voice, piano, or guitar lessons,) visual arts (a monthly trip to a local art museum works,) and physical education (sports activities, even bowling counts.)

I think the main thing is to relax. Even though it sounds complicated to meet all of the state requirements, it's not really all that hard. Look around the forums and ask any questions you might have.
    Kathi Homeschooling Mama to Twelve year old Dakota

maryc927 is offline Member