One elementary, one high school and no country!
    Poddygirl is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default One elementary, one high school and no country!

Hi everyone, I am new here. I am also new to homeschooling....I think! I pulled my 9 year old son out of school last month and he is now at home with me. My 13 year old daughter is in high school but I am considering pulling her out in July.
    So here's the thing. My son is an Aspie with mild sensory disorder. "Regular" school has always been a nightmare for him and for the rest of us, so I took him out. In the past year he has been in a very small private school (only 8 kids)...and while he has done very well academically, he still struggles with kids bullying him and the lack of "fun" in his schoolwork. It's all just books, books and more books. I know my kid, he prefers to learn in a hands on way or with a computer program that has lots of visuals and interactive stuff. So here we are. He has done a few demos on T4L and enjoyed it. My daughter understands that school is a necessary evil, but she does not enjoy it....except for Science, her teacher gives them lots of real life examples and visual teaching, which she, like my son, enjoys. Where we live (Trinidad and Tobago), the curriculum is very intense. What kids do in the U.S. in grade 9, we do here at grade 5/6. So she is probably above the average U.S. level, which doesn't mean she is gifted, it just means kids here are pushed harder from a younger age. (Which I personally can't stand). She is ADD/ADHD and is finding it harder and harder to focus and keep up with the workload, hence my wanting to homeschool her.

Anyway, on to my REAL issue. If you are still with me here, thank you! lol.