Question about starting level and anyone used 'ClicknKids'?
    jmac17 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Question about starting level and anyone used 'ClicknKids'?

Hi! I've been reading lots of posts, so I think I have actually found answers to most of my questions. Thanks to everyone for that!

What I'm still wondering about is where to start my DD. She is 4 years old, but already reading at what I'm guessing is about a late 2nd or early 3rd grade level. (I am a teacher with 10 years experience in tutoring reading, so that's an educated guess.) I want to expand on her keen interest and desire to read, without pressuring her. She is very motivated, and very 'into' the computer. I want to offer her useful things to do on the computer, rather than just games.

She picked up much of her reading just from various games and activities, such as Starfall, Reader Rabbit, etc., as well as from reading together. I don't want her to miss out on anything that she hasn't picked up on her own already, but I also don't want her to be bored and turned off of Time4Learning. We have used part of the "ClicknKids" program, but she no longer wants to use that. It is VERY repetitive - the same format for every lesson, just basic drill and practice. It wasn't 'fun'. She got through about 40 of 100 lessons. I found it difficult because there were things in each lesson that she didn't know (ie. most of the sight words), so I didn't want to skip lessons, but she already had the basic letter sounds, so that part of each lesson was boring. Just as she started to get to the point where she needed to learn the information (long vowel combinations, etc.), she started refusing to do it.

So, I guess my questions are: