Year round vs. Traditional schooling
    home&publicschoolteacher is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Year round vs. Traditional schooling

I am both a public and home school teacher. The school where I work at follows the traditional calendar, while when homeschooling my son we use the year-round calendar.

My thoughts are hypocritical to say the least on this, for my son it works best to year-round school, BUT as a public school teacher I see the children grow wary by the end-of-the year. Not to mention us teachers, really enjoy the long break.

What are your thoughts?

Wmoon is offline Senior Member

Well, for my family we pretty much school year around with lot of breaks though. The beauty of homeschool is not having to be on set schedule.
    *~*Carol*~*
    The potential for happiness is all around you.
    You just have to dip a toe in.

Momma Crystal is offline Senior Member

We go year round with breaks whenever we decided we want them. We slow down in the summer and only dig out school stuff a couple of times a week. We're too busy going to the pool or the beach or something to keep up at full speed. It works! My children retain everything FAR better. Plus our family runs much more smoothly when we keep up a routine.

I used to be a public school teacher. I think a year round model with several extended breaks throughout the year would work much better. Everyone would get better breaks and not burn out so much!

MamaToHerRoo is offline Senior Member

We go year round with breaks when we need them. This model works really well for us.