Special needs

Thread: Special needs

Doodlein304 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Special needs

My wife and I are considering homeschooling our 6 year old autistic daughter. I have an Associates degree and plan to perform the daily teaching. The county is trying to take her out of the school she has been in for the past 2 years. We fear that the change of environment and her daily routine will make her regress and lose all of the progress she has made.

We are looking for as much information as we can get to decide if homeschooling will be an option. I have researched a good amount on homeschooling, but the only information I can find does not mention special needs/autism.

I have spoke with the County Board of Education and they said we had to find a teacher to administer the assessment test at the end of the year, and that it is the parents responsibility of finding a teacher willing to administer the assessment test and what to focus on in the parent/teacher portfolio. Can anyone suggest a teacher to administer the assessment test?

I have found many different curriculum for homeschooling but would like advice on which one is the best and would benefit my daughter the most. It does not matter if it is a free or pay curriculum as long as my daughter gets the best education as possible.

My daughter can now spell and read and we have started working on math with her.

Before anyone gives negative comments about the social interactions that will be lost from not going to school, my wife and I are creating social interactions for her by starting her in the challengers sports league and looking into day cares for her to go to for a couple hours a week. She does not play with other children now, but she is starting to parallel play.

We are also looking for any occupational and speech therapists in the area that can come to our home and work with her on a weekly basis.

chad.stiles is offline Junior Member

Default Hope all is well!