Can you help me decide - bite the bullet or not?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mom1teacher2 is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Can you help me decide - bite the bullet or not?

We've been using T4L this summer and my DS has breezed through the first part of 1st grade and I'm loving teaching him at home. Kindergarten in public school really didn't go well. He's high-functioning autistic, which means his development is really close to "normal" with a few quirks that the ps teachers just seemed to have more problems with than I expected. He did gain a lot of positives from ps, but not in an academic sense. Even in the social sense, I feel like he learned more negatives than positives. Anyway, I'm also a public school teacher and feeling a bit like a traitor because I'm totally not believing in my own system. As the school year fast approaches, I'm fighting a sick feeling in my stomach at the idea of both of us going back to school. Do I dare yank him and just do this at home?

SahmIam is offline Senior Member

Default Re: Can you help me decide - bite the bullet or not?

You are a teacher, but you are a mother first. What do you think would be best for your son? Do you feel that his overall needs are met better at the school, or with you at home? Are there other issues that have to go into your decision, like finances, family attitudes, or other things? Just a few things that I'm thinking about myself as my own (autistic) son quickly approaches the age to go to school.

Also, let us know if you have any other questions. This is a supportive forum.
    Melissa.

aandwsmom is offline Senior Member

ITA with Melissa!
    I am not a teacher but grew up in a teaching household and was basically raised in the public school system. To homeschool went against everything I had been raised with.
    I wanted to homeschool when my boys were little because part of me wasnt ready to leave and part of me was worried that my oldest son with ADHD wouldnt get it.