Hey y'all!

Thread: Hey y'all!

WyoMomma is offline Junior Member Newbie

Default Hey y'all!

So, my name is Shawna and I'm extremely new to not only T4L, but to homeschooling in general!

We have been researching homeschooling for a little over a year now and just last month decided it was time to start with our 9yr old daughter, Rheanna. Long story short...she has a learning disorder called Central Auditory Processing Disorder (CAPD) which means her hearing is perfect, but what she hears cannot be processed correctly in her brain. It's a severe case and she has struggled throughout her public school career with it. This is not a "recognized" LD anywhere in the US so, we have always had a hard time getting services for her. The services she DOES receive are limited and the teachers, SpEd, SLP's, etc do not quite understand what she goes through daily (even though we've written up basic info, then detailed info and gave to each of her teachers every year. We have had many meetings and even had a specialized audiologist attend one to explain and they still don't get it! On top of this, she is also diagnosed with severe anxiety disorder... No wonder!